Monday, October 29, 2012

2011-12 Mid-Hudson Scholastic Chess League Season Recap

 The Mid-Hudson Scholastic Chess League (MHSCL) ended its tenth season March 10, 2012. Please click here for the final standings. 
Top individuals with most points during the season
Kostya Shetekauri of Monroe-Woodbury (15 points out of 15 games). Second through 8th were Timothy Mills of James O'Neill Team 1 (13.5 out of 15), John Darling of Cornwall Central HS Team 1 (13 points out of 14), Nate Matteson of Kingston HS (11points out of 14 games), Aleks Rosenbaum of Highland Falls Middle School (10 points out of 14 games), Alister Collins of Cornwall HS Team 1 nine points out of 10 games) , Christian Irizarry of Middletown HS (nine points out of 13 games) , and Jacob Sizemore of James O’Neill HS Team 2 (nine points out of 14 games played).

Semi-Final Matches


Cornwall Central HS Team 1 vs Kingston HS: John Darling and John Martello each won two games as Cornwall nipped Kingston 5-4. Cornwall Central won two of the three games in the final set to advance to the finals.

James O'Neill Team 1 vs Middletown HS: James O’Neill won the match, 6-3, despite Middletown’s Christian Irizarry winning three games. Timothy Mills and Ryan McCabe had two wins apiece, while Dave Sanz and Nick Fischer accounted for the other James O'Neill victories.
Consolation Match

Kingston HS vs Middletown HS: Kingston easily won the match, 8.5-0.5. Tom Schouten and Nathan Matteson won three games apiece, and Michael Liu won twice and drew one game.

Championship Match

Cornwall Central HS Team 1 vs James O’Neill HS Team 1: John Darling's three wins led Cornwall HS to its third consecutive championship, defeating James O'Neill HS 7.5-1.5. Alister Collins had two victories, Chase Huestis had a win and a draw, and John Martello won one game. Timothy Mills scored all of James O'Neill's points.

End-Of-Season 5-Round Swiss

The end-of-season five-round Swiss tournament was held at the same time as the playoffs. The event included players who did not participate in the playoffs. Kostya Shetakuri of Monroe-Woodbury HS won the 23-player section by a 5-0 score. Adrian Burnett, Leroy Meier, and Titus Decker, all The Mount Academy students, each scored four points. Other trophy winners were Shawn Burnett (The Amount Academy) and Ella Collins (Conrwall), each with three points.

The Mount Academy won the team portion of event, scoring 15 points. Cornwall Central HS finished second with 10 points, Kingston. HS finished third with nine points, and James O'Neill HS finished with eight points.

Please go to for detailed info on the 2011-12 season and the league.

No comments:

Post a Comment